His Sounds’ Faithful at 40

4

August 1, 2011 by theairprince

Bukod sa pagiging animation builder sa umaga, isa akong freelance graphic/layout artist. Kelangan ko ng dagdag kita. Mahirap buhayin ang mga anak ko. Walang pambili ng diaper at gatas kung di ako kakayod ng todo😀.

I got the opportunity to work with one of our country’s best choir group, His Sounds. I watched their recent concert last May 7 this year and I must say na may ibubuga sila. Forget about Madrigal Singers for the mean time. Naantig ang puso ko sa mga kanta nila. And this coming August 6, they will be celebrating their 40th anniversary. Kaya my close friend who is part of the group asked my help to design their event poster.

Medyo kinakabahan ako dahil: 1) first time ko magkaroon ng client na not school related; 2) bigatin yung event dahil 40th anniversary nga; and 3) makikita rin ng madaming tao yung gawa ko. So I thought so hard hanggang sa matosta ang utak ko, joke😀 I asked for some of their pics during their past anniversary concerts until I came across with this one.


Medyo naintriga ako sa architectural and interior design ng PhilamLife Auditorium lalo na dun sa mga panels ng ilaw sa ceiling. I actually saw it when I watched their concert. Maganda and interesting yung design kaya I tried to incorporate it. Gumawa ako ng 4-sided shapes then placed it side by side with an opposite shape, just like as they appear on the ceiling.


Then I did a design for the event title. I wanted it classy, formal, and memorable. Naghanap ako ng fonts sa net since ayoko masyado maging dependent sa available fonts ng Microsoft. Then I came with this one:


Tapos I did 2 layout sketches for the poster. Naglaro ako sa idea ng “number 40”. I placed 40 shapes (20 pairs) then made it appear na parang scattered pero still connected (it signifies the past and present members of His Sounds, wherever they are, they’re still connected through the 40th anniversary event). Then I inserted the event details on the side.


Tapos I looked for color palettes. Ano ba naiisip natin sa 40th anniversary. No, hindi yung “ay ang tanda na”😀. It’s ruby. So I looked for shades of ruby/red. I also tried to search for complimentary colors of red. I found cream/beige/light brown colors. Maganda rin since the brown ones are the colors of the wood panels around the theater (although hindi ko pinili ang dark brown ones dahil ayoko masyado maging madilim).



Then I translated everything to graphic design sa Adobe Photoshop. I also included some pictures from their 40 years and superimposed them sa “panels” para naman makita yung brief history. Tapos I played with gradient colors for the panels in such a way that they look “interwoven” (signifying their intact, deep, and strong relationship with one another. The “woven image” represents the His Sounds as it has became.) I also used a wooden panel texture as background image (since yung venue ng concert has wooden panels). It took me about 3 hours., layouting and tweaking the design details. I tried to print the design just to see if it was OK for printed format.


I sent my design proposal to the organizers. After seeing my design, sabi ng friend ko nagustuhan nila yung gawa ko and was amazed by the design analysis and concept behind my proposal. Tuwang-tuwa ako🙂. Pero I had to do some adjustments para mas palung-palo😀 Ayos lang naman sa akin basta aprub yung concept behind the design🙂.


Few days after my revision and submission, they already posted it on their Facebook page. I also did a design for tickets. Same design elements but in different format (I just tweaked the panels and event details in different positions). My friend gave me my complimentary ticket. Doon ko talaga mas naapreciate yung gawa ko since nakita ko na siya in print form. Ang ganda🙂.


Super nainspire ako magdesign ng poster and other event collaterals nila. Not because I’m doing this for experience or skills improvement but also I wanted to impart what I have on something that is for celebration of faith and music. Music is a wonderful means of worship, di ba? I don’t wanna be too ‘banal’ but once you hear them sing, you will feel a sense of spirituality. Ok, ako na ang pastor😀.

If you’re interested to watch His Sounds’ Faithful @ 40 anniversary concert, you may contact Jenny Trinidad at 0917-5033083 or 0923-2673423. It will be held on August 6, 2011 (Saturday) at PhilamLife Auditorium (UN Avenue, Malate, Manila… katapat ng MAnila Doctor’s Hospital, I think) Tickets sold at Php 100 each.

Thanks to Elvis Jan Nicolas and the entire His Sounds family🙂 God bless🙂

Hot like Mexico, rejoice!

4 thoughts on “His Sounds’ Faithful at 40

  1. Galing ng design, Tony! Nakaka intimidate ka! haha!

  2. Michelle mediana says:

    Hi im michelle mediana, reporter of TV 5. I would like to ask how i can get in touch with you? My email add is michelle.mediana@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

