His Sounds: Together

Leave a comment

May 24, 2011 by theairprince

Muntik ko na hindi mapost ito🙂.

Jampacked ang May 7 ko (that was Saturday): 1st graduation practice sa school and then Untog/Untag exhibit at CCP. Also, I attended His Sounds Together concert at Philam Life Theater in Manila. Actually my close friend Elvis had just invited me few days prior the concert event. At first hindi ako umasa na bibigyan ako ng libreng ticket (the ticket costs Php 200) after I helped him with the poster design (na hindi rin nagamit, ewan ko kung bakit pero ayos lang di ako nagtampo). And then he gave me complimentary tickets kahit nung una niloloko ako na walang libreng ticket. Thanks, Elvis🙂.

After the graduation rehearsal at school, at around 2 PM, I headed to U.N. Avenue via LRT. Syempre naman, sumakay muna ako ng shuttle bus from APC to Lapu-Lapu then a jeep to EDSA-Taft LRT station. Bumili pa ako ng malamig na McDo float dahil super init ng panahon (di kinaya ng sunglasses, payong, at sunscreen ko) at muntik pa ako maligaw. I arrived at the venue almost an hour early, which was a surprise for Elvis kasi kilala niya ako bilang isang taong nagpapahalaga sa Filipino time. Natuwa ako kasi I arrived ng maaga🙂.

the program booklet🙂

the complimentary ticket🙂

I forgot to take some photos of Philam Life theater because I was saving my battery life for the concert. Hindi ako nakapagcharge. It was my first time to go there.  The place is old, parang mas matanda pa yata sa akin. But no matter how ancient as it looks, the architecture and the paintings on the walls tell a lot of stories.

Inabot sa akin ni Elvis yung ticket ko and then I joined the line in order to get inside the theater. And dahil malapit na mag empty yung battery ng camera ko, I even asked him if he could charge it. He simply agreed. As I entered the venue, I chose to sit near the aisle. I glanced around the auditorium and it looked so majestic kahit amoy 1980s (pero it adds drama naman hehe). Maganda yung stage at may grand piano sa tabi. Kung wala lang tao at kung pwede, sumampol ako ng… Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star😀.

Lumingon ako sa paligid and there were few people sitting inside. Yumuko ako at sinubukang umidlip dahil medyo ilang minuto pa bago mag-umpisa yung event (at wala naman akong maka-usap doon). And then the program started with the usual Philippine National Anthem and Opening Prayer. Mr. Romulo Pizaña, His Sounds Philippines Music Director and Conductor, gave an uplifting opening remarks and promised that we would be inspired by the concert🙂 By the way, whoever was the voice over… I love your voice! Pwedeng pang drama sa radio😀.

The concert, by the way, was divided into 2 parts: 3 PM and 7 PM. I told Elvis that I could only watch 3 PM since I had another event to attend (Untog/Untag exhibit). There was an audio-visual presentation of the event that tells the history of His Sounds. I learned that it’s already 40 years old and still holding choir festivals and living the commitment of singing for the glory of God. Natuwa ako kasi throughout the years, the group is still there and will be celebrating its ruby anniversary this year. Not only that, His Sounds has been part of some local and international chorale festivals and competitions. Ang kanilang tinig ay dumadayo sa ibang panig ng mundo. Wow, anlalim ng Tagalog ko😀.

I’m so proud that my friend and even Edneil Jocusol, another APCian (BS ECE student and batchmate of Elvis, also the EIC of The Rampage) are part of His Sounds mission and legacy. At yun nga, pinanuod ko sila to support. Those two guys are so talented in singing kaya I wanted to watch them🙂.

Here are the delegates who participated in His Sounds Together concert:

Part 1: 3 PM

  • Alpha & Omega Choir (Taytay UMC)
  • Center for Community Transformation (CCT) Choir
  • National Electrification Administration (NEA) Chorale
  • Manila Concert Choir

Part 2: 7 PM (which, unfortunately, I didn’t able to watch)

  • Chorus Philippines
  • UCCP Community Church of Las Piñas Choir
  • University of Perpetual Help Chorale
  • The Good Samaritan UMC Chorale Ensemble
  • PCU-Mary Johnston College of Nursing Chorale

and His Sounds (which performed on both parts)

The chorale festival doesn’t only focus to praise and worship songs but also it included some pop, classical, and secular music genre. I find it appealing para hindi naman ma-bore yung audience🙂.





Here are the videos of His Sounds choir performances Hindi ako biased ah kung His Sounds lang nakuhanan ko. Remember, low batt ako nun. If you can notice, some of the videos are short to compensate with the dying battery life. Kung ayaw mo maniwala, sumbong kita kay God. Joke😀




My favorite song which gave me goosebumps was His Sounds’ Alleluia (by Randall Thompson). Kahit ‘alleluia’ lang yung lyrics during the entire extent of the song, it was dynamic, full of drama, and complex. I even joked Elvis thru text na sa sobrang dynamic at ganda ng song, pakiramdam ko parang funeral song siya at ililibing ako ng payapa😀.

Sad to say but I left the venue after the first part. I also wasn’t able to take photos with Elvis and Edneil or even the choir. Dear His Sounds, invite me on your next concert, ha?😀. Anyway, congratulations to the participants and organizers of this event🙂.

BTW, His Sounds will be leaving this week for a choir festival at Singapore! Let’s support and pray for them🙂. Go, Edneil and Elvis! APC will be very pleased🙂.

Hot like Mexico, rejoice!
The Air Prince

Leave a Reply

